Tags

, ,

Image

We’ve come a long way since moving into our small condo just over a year ago. The apartment has transformed into a lovely and cozy little starter home for my fiance and I. The only negative about the space is the lack of storage. It seems builders have traded indoor amenities (only in NYC would a linen closet be considered an amenity) such as closets and cabinets for the outdoor amenities of rooftop lounges and private gyms. So when a gal has to figure out where to put stuff, it means it’s time to combine creative brainstorming with a little DYI.

My need for a space to place all those little extras that I never have room for after a good run at Costco, led me to wanting to re-purpose an old small bookcase from our last rental apartment. Luckily it was the same height and width as our kitchen counter/island and with it being just over 8 inches deep it hardly took up any additional space in our walk way. Here’s what I did:

Image

I started my project by painting the bookcase white so it would match the counter/island as much as possible.

Image

My intention was to make the bookcase look like an extension of the island.

Image

Using the cardboard box from furniture we had just purchased, I cut it up to fit the exact length and width of the shelves and used spare fabric from an older DYI project to cover the boards and made stylish shelve liners. I used regular clear packing tape to adhere the fabric to the downside of the cardboard.

Image

Once I lined all the shelves, I was able to give my spare kitchen items a home and finally had a place to store my cookbooks.

Image

The space the bookcase takes up isn’t even noticeable but the storage it provides is huge!

Image

I love finding ways to spruce up and use old things and I’m glad this 20 year old bookcase made the cut when we moved to our new place. At the time I had no idea how I would end up using it, but now I couldn’t be more thrilled with the desperately needed kitchen storage it provides. It just goes to show you, even in a new space, something old can become new and useful again.

