Tags

, , ,

Image

So now that I’ve said yes to a dress, it’s time to start thinking of how I want to complete my wedding day look. The first consideration that springs to mind is to veil or not to veil. Nothing seals the deal for a romantic wedding day look quite like a beautiful veil. And just like choosing a wedding dress, there is no end to the variety of options that come with veil shopping. Since I am going for a more sophisticated, romantic look, I am searching for something elegant and simple to go with the theme of my dress. One way that I’ve found to help me with my search is to look at online options, especially as it pertains to accessories. Often you can find really good deals shopping online for items that may cost you quite a bit more in a brick and mortar store.  One such option is Simply Bridal.

Image

I decided to give picking out a wedding accessory online a try to see if the experience was worth it. Here’s what I found…

The Good: I choose a beautiful two tier, 108″ pencil edged veil from http://www.simplybridal.com. I was told it would ship 7 to 10 days after making my selection and indeed it did arrive within that time frame. The price couldn’t be beat at $39.99, as veils can run into the hundreds depending on length and detailing. There is a metal comb attachment and it is considered chapel length which is exactly the style I was interested in as it is universally flattering to most styles of wedding dresses. It arrived nicely packaged in a simple box with cellophane. You can browse their selection of veils HERE. 

Image

The Not So Good: On the website, you can chose between White and Ivory which is the standard colors for most wedding veils. However there is no description of what the veil is made of and despite it looking soft and flowing on the website, the veil actually was quite stiff when it arrived fresh out of the box. I quickly figured out on my own that it is made of a polyester tulle with small netting. There was no instructions on how to best remove the creases that had set in as the veil had sat folded in a box during transport. When I tried it on, it was puffy and didn’t seem to look as soft and elegant as it did on the model online. Since there was no indication of what the veil is made of, I found myself searching the internet trying to figure out how to un-stiffen a veil without causing damage.

Image

My Final Thoughts: Choosing an important bridal accessory online is a stress free and budget friendly way to make the journey to your wedding go smoothly. However you need to have as much information as possible at your disposal before making your purchase. If there isn’t enough information posted on the website regarding the item, call their online customer service number and inquire about  what the material is made of and how to best care for and treat the item. Since you won’t be in -store making your purchase, you need to be specific about what you are looking for in terms of style, material and budget.

Over all I found the entire process to be seamless, and a lot of that is attributed to the company you decide to use when purchasing your item online. Make sure you search online review sites like yelp and various wedding board sites for advice from other brides who have had experiences purchasing from a particular online store. While it’s reasonable to find one or two comments from brides who may of had bad experiences, the majority of comments should be positive. You should have a sense that you will be dealing with a reputable company who will listen to your concerns before and after you make your purchase.  I looked at several online videos and read a number of reviews before contacting Simply Bridal. They provided consistent feedback and I felt completely comfortable with my over all experience.

Image

