Tags

, ,

Image

Today is my 43rd birthday. All week long I’ve been in a peaceful state of mind. For the first time in a long time I don’t feel the need to make big plans for my birthday or even do anything particularly special. Perhaps it’s because I have settled into a place of contentment and for that I am truly grateful.

Of course things are far from ideal and no where near perfect. There are certainly areas that I wish I could say were more firmly put into place. But instead of seeing these things as failures, I see them as challenges yet to be conquered and the best part is, I now know I will not only over come any issues or setbacks but will exceed them.

A year ago I will candidly admit I was in a dark place. My past, present and future seemed to be melting into a bleak and sad stew of pain and sorrow which felt almost inescapable. Yet I did manage to get out of the darkness and even though there were days I crawled on my knees, I did eventually make it to the light. And for that I am grateful. I am grateful for the times when I couldn’t walk but could still crawl. I am grateful for the days when I could walk but still could not run. And I am ever still grateful for the ability to try every day to push forward.

So no matter that I am still not where I always thought I should be at this age, I am grateful that I simply am here. Right where I am right now is exactly where I am happy to be and for that I know I am blessed.

