Tags

, , ,

In New York City, there is always something to see. One of my favorite activities is window shopping. I love being inspired by all the wonderful things I see in store windows and store displays. Since I always keep an eye on my budget, the real fun comes in trying to recreate the high end looks that leave me in awe, and replicate them on a more affordable price point. Here are some things I’ve spied at the legendary ABC Home and Carpet store that have my wheels turning.

Image

I happen to be walking down the street when these signs in ABC Home and Carpet caught my eye.

Image

Fracking is a hot button issue being debated across this country and now it’s being considered by the law makers here in NYC. Yoko Ono, a prominent activist and NYC resident has partnered up with ABC Home and Carpet to bring awareness to this issue with this Imagine No Fracking Campaign.

Image

Image

The campaign continues in store as well. As you walk in by the front door you are greeted with a video display of actor Mark Ruffalo and new age guru Deepak Chropra discussing the health hazards to our environment as a result of fracking.

Image

Venture further into the store and the campaign continues.

Image

While the No Fracking campaign may of lead me into the store, my eyes couldn’t help but notice the rustic and exotic beauty of the various items on display.

Image

Although this is primarily know as a high end home and carpet store, there are clothing pieces displayed through out the first floor as well. These beautiful and simple light weight cotton camis have me longing for hot summer days and fashionable cool nights.

A chance encounter with a bold window display not only lead me on a little detour inside one of my favorite stores but it also reminded me of the pressing issues worthy of my attention going on in my community.

If you want to learn more about fracking, here are some informative websites:

Artists Against Fracking

River Keeper

Gasland: A Film About Fracking

