Tags

, , , ,

Image

Sofia Vergara, 40, goes blonde for summer.

When I first saw this photo of Sofia, I instantly thought good for her, I hope she’s enjoying the blonde life! As we age it seems we are more prone to get stuck in a beauty rut. Recently I was speaking with an older friend of mine who has, according to old photos, had the same haircut for over 20 years. When I tried to introduce the idea of wearing a slightly longer style she immediately rebuffed me saying “absolutely not, long hair doesn’t work on older women!”

Kelly Osbourne

Kelly Osbourne stated during an interview, “To me, I’m 27 — I’ve got three years left, the way I look at it, to have fun with it because once you’re 30, you look like a right idiot walking around with like rainbow, bright color hair and all different things like that.”

Where do we get these arbitrary fashion and beauty rules from, and why are some women so bound to abiding by them? I can remember being in my teens and twenties and constantly changing up my hair and my fashion style without a second thought. Yet once I turned 30, I also believed I needed to be more aware of how I was perceived by others and therefore less “reckless” with my image. By allowing my style sense to be dictated by the rules of others, I became very self conscious about my outward appearance. Eventually I began to realize I was stifling my own ability at self expression and limiting my growth. When you start listening to the voices outside yourself more consistently than your own voice, you will always lose out on fulfilling your greatest possibility for happiness.

Image

Dame Helen Mirren, 67, rocks pink hair at awards show in London earlier this year.

Change isn’t just something that young people should embrace. As I stated in How Not To Be Old At 40, change is inevitable. Embracing change and having fun with it is the surest way I’ve seen to keep your spirit from growing old. So if you’re feeling like a change is needed, don’t allow the naysayers, and the fashion and beauty police keep you from taking a bold step in a new direction. A change would do you good!

